Bideford Regatta

Bideford RegattaIt was a fantastic end to the rowing season for the Bideford Blues rowers this weekend with outstanding performances on their home water.

Following on from the success of Dartmouth regatta the club not only gained 13 first positions, 7 second place and 3 thirds, they also won the Billy Little cup and the Grimes Perpetual Trophy. The Billy Little cup is awarded to the local club (Bideford Reds or Bideford Blues) who has the most points on the day whilst the Grimes Trophy is presented to the overall champions of the river.

1st place results:
Men’s senior B fours – Dave Bates, Dave Powe, Dave Burton, Alistair Peake and Colin Pennington (cox)
Men’s junior 16 single scull – Alex Dualibi-Wilson
Men’s novice fours – A. Henry, James Yeo, Brian Andrews, Declan Monaghan and Charlie Colwill (cox)
Men’s senior B single sculls – Dave Byrnes
Masters handicapped fours – (B crew) Dave Bates, Dave Powe, Dave Burton, Alistair Peake left it until the very last minute to put in a final spurt and pip the Blues A crew to the line
Men’s senior C double sculls – Alice Jackson & Dave Byrnes
Men’s novice single sculls – Declan Monaghan
Ladies novice fours – C. Michael, S. Thompson, M. Mills. R. Dualibi-Wilson and Dave Powe (cox)
Men’s junior 18 single scull – Declan Monaghan
Ladies senior C fours – Shannon Monaghan, Shelby May, Charlotte Berry, Kirsty Snow and Zoe Robertson (cox)
Men’s junior 16 double sculls – Alex Dualibi-Wilson & James Jordan
Ladies junior 18 fours – Shannon Monaghan, Shelby May, Charlotte Berry & Kirsty Snow
Ladies senior C double sculls – Zoe Robertson & Annie Cooke

2nd place results:
Men’s junior 14 quad – (B crew) W. Lamana, R. Johnson, J. Berry, S. Brittle & Zoe Robertson (cox)
Men’s senior B single scull – Milo George
Ladies senior A fours – Zoe Robertson, Annie Cooke, Alice Jackson & Kirsty Snow
Masters handicapped fours – (Blues A) Colin Pennington, Steve Clements, Nigel Cann, Neil Pennington & Chloe Pennington (cox)
Men’s open double scull – Alistiar Peake & Dave Byrnes
Ladies junior 18 double sculls – Kirsty Snow & Charlotte Berry
Ladies senior C single sculls – Annie Cooke

3rd place results:
Men’s junior 14 quad – Nell Gierke, Charlie Colwill, Charlie Smale, T. Evans and Tina Robertson (cox)
Men’s senior C fours – Dave Bates, Milo George, Dave Byrnes, Alistair Peake
Men’s junior 16 coxed squad – Alex Dualibi-Wilson, James Jordan, L. Wilson & A.Other

All rowers put on an excellent performances, especially the two under 14 crews who were rowing their first regatta after having only six months of training.

Although this was the last regatta of the season some crews will be making the short trip to Wimbleball Lake next week for the South Coast Championships. Crews include the men’s veterans, men’s novice, ladies under 18’s / senior C and Alex Dualibi-Wilson and James Jordan in the pairs and scull races.

Comments are closed.